Awarded 1st runner-up

Hello everyone,

I am still a bit in shock and overwhelmed…our humble project won 1st runner up in the Philly Arabia’s “Spread Some Inspiration” – “Most inspiring woman in the GCC” campaign. I wanted to take a moment to acknowledge and give massive gratitude to the many people who played a big part in this.

Thank you so very much Philly Arabia and UN Women for this incredible platform. A huge thank you to the judges, that inspire us all by their incredible leadership everyday, Dr. Rana Al Fares, Lina AlMaeena and Sheikha Hend Falsal Al Qassemi. I am grateful for their wonderful words of encouragement, support and belief in our project. Thank you to the entire Clowns Who Care Project and Dubomedy Arts team, thank you to my loving family and husband, thank you to everyone who voted for us! Last but certainly not least, thank you to all the children, teens and adults who allow us to spend time with you….you inspire us to be better people and to appreciate every single thing God gives us… you are the ones who really teach and help us! It was such an honor to share the stage with the other finalists, Sheryl and Muna. I have two new friends and will hold them close to my heart.

For the first time in my life I took the stage, not to make people laugh or entertain, but to make myself and everyone cry…. in that moment I was reminded of the much bigger PURPOSE, the much greater meaning and responsibility…. as I looked at the room filled with inspiring women I was so moved and humbled I struggled to speak. We are living proof that anything is possible if you have the passion and desire to try and make a difference.

I, and the entire Clowns who care project team, would like to dedicate this award to 3 women who inspired me greatly and believed in me even when I didn’t. My friends, my teachers, my directors: Paoli Lacy the Godmother of Clown Therapy, Peggy Ford legendary USA female clown and youth program director and Caroline Jones the incredible circus and arts management extraordinaire . Sadly these women all left us too soon this past year though their legacy will certainly live on. As we expand CWC each of the 3 branches will be in honor of, and named after, these women.

At the end of the day I am a comedian and my duty is to make this world a happier place. Thank you God for all the gifts you have given me and for allowing me to share it with others. Our next CWC Projects will include a party at SENSES Center for Children with special needs, our first visit to Palestine and a special summer arts camp for the beautiful children of Live it Up! Uganada home for rescued children.

With gratitude, humility and love,
Mina

In The National News:

Ms Liccione, the competition’s runner-up, said it felt selfish to win an award for helping others. “They’re really the ones who help me,” she said, and urged other women to take up good deeds. “You don’t need a lot of money, it’s OK. You have talent and passion.”

Read more: http://www.thenational.ae/news/uae-news/dubai-based-comedian-wins-award-for-helping-others#ixzz2TM9x9owX

philly judges philly mina philly top 3

Leave a Reply

